For Better For Best by Meena Diasso…

      FOR BETTER FOR BEST
 

THIS ONE IS FOR U ONE OF THE MOST AMAZING WOMEN I’VE EVER COME ACROSS MY DR ZEE (AUNTY SIS 💞) HAPPY BIRTHDAY WE THANK ALLAH FOR THE ADDITIONAL YEAR HE HAS ADDED TO SUCH AN AMAZING SOUL, AND PRAY HE BLESSES YOU WITH MULTITUDES OF PROSPERITY IN THE SUPER LONG YEARS YOU HAVE AHEAD. THE LOVE IS KAATO WITH ALL MY LOVE ALL THE WAY FROM GHANA I SAY (AFEHYIA PA) HAVE A  BLESSED YEAR. 

Meena_Diasso

                 PROLOGUE…. 

“So what do you want  to do after school?” she asked in her sultry seductive voice that made men succumb to her will and snuggled into him, “I will find a good job or probably start my own business then make lots of money so I can marry you and treat you like the queen you are,  you deserve to be treated like a queen, My Queen” he quickly added. She chuckled softly and turned looking into his eyes “I really love you Stephan, I want us to be married already I mean if not for this school thing and the worst part is mom wants me to choose one of the numerous suitors who’ve gone to her to ask for my hand” she said pouting a bit whiles rolling her eyes,  he growled tightening his grip on her hand she patted his back and spoke softly in his ear “Plus I know you  have the potential of being far richer than any of them, I can even feel it” she added as  she pulled away.

She kissed him on the lip one last time and rose from his small student mattress sashaying to the door “See you later Steph” she waved  holding  the knob and winked at him.  She closed the door shut and leaned on it, then removed her phone from her bag tapping on  it numerous times before holding it to her ear “Hello sweetheart I’m so sorry I couldn’t answer your call, I’m sorta busy right now but I promise to make it up to you”. 

              One  💕

              *Steph*

“I Stephan Botchway promise to take Cassia Yawson as my lawfully  wedded wife for better for worse,for richer for poor, in sickness and in health till death do us part” I repeated after the priest  looking into the glistening eyes of Cassie, she smiled and my world was a whole lot brighter, she held my hand tightly  as her plump lips repeated the words of the priest “You may now kiss the bride” I wanted to rush her into the kiss but she didn’t deserve that she deserved to be treated just as she is a Queen, I started off with the kiss softly  acquainting  her lips to mine then  deepened it tightening my grip on her waist, I heard the distant awe of the crowd then the priest clearing his throat but I was far too gone ; lost  in the abyss of her charm  to acknowledge my surrounding she pushed me back a bit, and rested her forehead on mine, “I think you should reserve the rest for later” she whispered, I nodded and couldn’t keep the smirk off my face she was finally “MINE”. I smirked when my eye caught the eyes of my business partner and colleagues from school and work. 

The  wedding reception was a blast, almost everyone had danced, the songs that were  played  had a unique blend from  old skool to Hip Hop, hi-life and contemporal hi-life. I loved that out of  the lot I was the one to have Cassia Yawson now BOTCHWAY  things were going to be different now,  I’ll shower her with so much love that she would never even think of leaving me.

 That was my worst fear, and I was bent  on never making it happen . 

I watched as she danced holding the attention of everyone in the room, I was angered by the looks some of the men were giving her; the gown clung to  her upper body, it was  to had a low cut at the cleavage but the transparent lace that was sown over the dress only made way for a small peekaboo, I gave a pleading smile to the guys excusing myself from them. I  hugged her from behind, maybe the men just needed a little reminder who she belonged to, “I love you Cassie” I whispered into her ear and kissed her neck. 

                        ❄Cassie❄

I really admired him I looked deep into his light brown eyes and could see nothing but  admiration and love, I liked him? yes I really do no doubt about it but I knew it was no where near what he felt for me cos, Steph would do whatever I asked without batting an eye,  the question is would I even for a millisecond do half of what he would?  He was the youngest and most handsome  of all the guys I’ve ever dated, cos truth be told I never date an age mate but with him I had to give in.

 I repeated the priest’s words but  was not so sure if  I could really comply I mean who marries “for better for worse, I earnestly despised those words,   they do nothing but bind you to your doom,  I watched the exact thing happen to my mom for crying out loud  and the funniest part is when I say for  richer for   poor, cos he was not poor and was  no where near poverty : his company was an uprising one getting all the  deals they were already a threat to the top multimedia and advertising companies in the country .

Marriage is only an ok thing for me when there is no hardship  I mean who  wants to be binded to someone in hardship for life, NO SANE PERSON WOULD,   it will and always will be FOR BETTER FOR BEST,  I had no time for negative words in my life I’m NEVER going down that lane again. 

“You are very lucky you know” Nora my best friend said as we swayed  to Kojo Antwi’s “Medofo pa”, “And that your man can’t take his eyes off you” she added motioning to where he was with her chin, “God I pray for that kinda love” she squealed silently fanning herself with her hand, being a complete romantic at heart she tends to exaggerate especially when it comes to love  she’s so naïve  it  was just downright annoying, she tends to always fall for the wrong guys yet never learns , her family is old money they had everything and Nora was an only child just like I am   but she had it all when we were growing up, I used to envy her scratch that still do, but I love her like the sis I never had. 
“He’s coming” she said in a whisper shout and walked away,i fell into the sudden  hug plastering my trademark smile on my face “I love you Cassie” I kissed his slightly bulged arm and dance to the slow tune that was playing, “I love you too King”.

                       *****

Our honeymoon was epic not too many couple got to  go to South Africa for their  honeymoon I’d have preferred the Caribbean but the rates were too much and Steph had already spent a lot on the wedding, I hated that  I had to compromise but everything is in due time “What Cassie wants she gets”   that has always been my motto. I hated poverty and I found riches, I wanted to make moi a little money and I was able to do that.

 Bought myself a little car which I hope Steph would change for me I want to have a car which would have heads turning when I’m driving just like my beauty does, I held Steph’s arm tightly as our cart passed the lions, I shut my eye tightly gosh I really hated this, he chuckled and kissed my head “I never took you for a scary one though” I hit his arm and buried my head more in the crook of his  arm  “Who wouldn’t when a large canine beast is a foot closer to him” I retorted.  I made move to straighten myself but he was having none of it, “No babe I like it when you’re so into me” he said in his ever enchanting voice. “Oh yeah baby I’m so into you” I replied in a mock voice kissing his lips but our joy was short-lived when the tour guard  made that the very time to announce the end of the safari tour. I pulled away from his lips a little dazed and gave him a peck then jumped off the cart. 

Steph followed suit and held my tummy “You should really slow down a bit  you know, you could be pregnant” I rolled my eyes cos he  couldn’t see me ‘did he really think I was that stupid to fall pregnant I was on the pill and would be going for an IUD as  soon as I got home, so there was no chance of me getting pregnant now, I wanted to sterilize myself but that would have shattered mom’s dream of ever being a Grandma so I opted for the IUD’.

Leave a Reply

