FOR BETTER FOR BEST 

Three 💕

Cassie 

I marveled at how excited Steph was,  I rolled my eyes when I came out of the bathroom and  he was on the phone with his new friend,  he motioned  for me to join him with his hand,  “Come here” he mouthed when I remained rooted to my spot,  he gave me a wet kiss on my cheek resting his hand on my tummy,  “We’ll see you later tonight Steve, and we’ll definitely hit that club you are talking about” my lips tugged up,  I was excited to finally get to hit the club maybe Steve was going to be my favorite person. 

“How are you feeling? Are you sure you don’t want to see a doctor” he asked worriedly after he was done with his call “God Steph I’ve told you numerous times already, I’m ok,  I just slipped and I’m ok now,  geez…… And I’m definitely not seeing a doctor when I just heard you talk about going to the club”  I quickly added giving him a peck  on the lip. 

He huffed and nodded in defeat,  walking out of the bedroom, I slowly shook my head and hurriedly entered the walk-in closet going for the one dress that was fixated on my mind the very minute I heard we were going to a party, I slowly pulled out the off shoulder mid thigh body hug I had stacked at the far end of the closet,  I wasn’t so sure about hitting the club cos Steph was so not a party person but I guess not losing hope was a good thing ,  I wasn’t happy when I heard we were coming here but  Joburg had very wild clubs the parties were literally outta this world crazy, and hopefully Port Elizabeth won’t be so different.

 I smiled and gently placed the dress on the bed as I massaged my body with my sweet scented cocoa butter  lotion. 

Steph squinted his eyes watching me through the mirror as I applied my makeup, “Babe is this dress not too short and small” I huffed inwardly clearing the  sudden catch in my throat 

“Steph do you mean to say I’m too fat, God we’re not even a month into this marriage and…… ” he held his hands in  surrender  blinking rapidly,  “I swear I didn’t mean that,  it’s just that the dress seems too short”.

“Are you trying to insult my intelligence Steph,  what is wrong with me dressing up to go to a club,  we both know there will be far worst dressed ladies over there what I chose is no big deal;  you can’t talk me out of wearing what I want Steph” I retorted angrily clenching my fists tightly.

I rolled my eyes as he ran his hand through his shaved  hair,  pleading with his eyes, “Ok you can wear what you want Casse, you know I’d do anything to make you happy” my  lips tugged up a bit as I heard him say those words.  I really love how sincere he was, with me when it came to his feelings. 

I always had the upper hand, sadly those were not reciprocated, I wish I could LOVE him. 

*** 

Dinner with Steve was amazing I was marveled at how he flirted with me openly in front of Steph,  but when he did same to the waitress I believed hands down that Steve was the biggest flirt ever. 

I got to know he was an investor and although he didn’t really go deep into his life I could tell he was pretty well off. I zoned out when he and Steph started talking about sports

  
“So are you really up for some good dancing Steph?…..cos your honeymoon would be  no way near perfect without a little clubbing in SA” he uttered winking at me when he said the last part.  I couldn’t help widening my lip,  “You’re right though” I replied winking back.  “I never took you for the partying type Casse” I chuckled and shook my head there was a lot he didn’t know about me, God there were lots of things even I didn’t know about myself but there was no need to  voice it out. 
I looked around the huge hall filled with sweaty bodies,  as we made our way to the VIP section.
I nodded in approval when Steve nodded to the waitress and a bucket filled with ice and two bottles of baileys was brought. I smiled approvingly when he opened the cork,  handing a glass to each of us. 

“Babe I  think you should have a juice or something you could be  pregnant for all we know” I gritted my teeth trying so hard to  not unleash my anger on him WHAT THE HELL did he think I was a  fool to be pregnant now.  I cleared my throat and forced  a smile on my lip “I can assure you I’m not pregnant Steph” I forced out smiling at him. 
I really wonder why  I got my self in this confusion,  maybe it was a mistake after all,  I mean who does this thing at a young age I’m only 23 not even close to a age I should be bothered with this marriage crap. 
I placed the glass between my lips and took a sip. Then swallowed the whole content in the glass “See nothing happened” I shrugged showing him the glass.  Steve was really  quiet and didn’t interfere,  “Let’s go dance Steve,  I feel really old right now and Steph will only make it worse” I uttered pulling  Steve from his seat  maybe it’s time  Steph meets the real Cassia. 

 

Leave a Reply

