FOR BETTER FOR BEST

FOURTEEN

Cassie

I stood at the baggage lounge waiting to for my luggage to be cleared, I couldn’t ward off the uneasiness that settled at the pit of my stomach, what awaited me at home.
I know they’d be worried, a vacation I’d planned to go for two weeks had turned to being more than a month away.

What would I tell them kept me long?, Steph might be a bit understanding but how would I get mom to understand and Nora too, I owed her an explanation, I know she’s the one to bear all the grilling whiles I was away: Steph would have probably gone to her or mom by now to enquire about my whereabouts if he’s back from his trips.

I heaved a sigh as I pulled my bag by the handle and made way to the taxi rank.

I glanced through the cars, searching for a more suitable car to take me home, there was no way I was pulling up in front of my house with a car which looks like it might break out in the middle of the road.

I settled on a red and yellow painted Kia Sorento, the colour was the only give off that it was a taxi, everything else looked brand new. I looked at the bush of drivers who seemed to be in a hot argument and motioned to the car, the driver made it to the car before me and opened the trunk hurriedly shoving my luggage in before opening the passenger door for me.

I shook my head and opened the back door instead then rested my head on the headrest as I thought of how I was going to handle the situation.

••°°°••…°…°°•…°°°•…°•°•…°•°•°•°•°•°•°•°•°…

The house was very quiet when I entered I went straight to the guest room, arranged my clothes in the closet and then laid on the bed a bit to rid myself of the jet lag.

I woke up after what seems like hours of rest and  entered the bathroom,  our guestrooms were already stocked with brushes, sponges and toothpaste so I went by my normal morning routine before making my way downstairs. 

It was late evening and Awura Abena was mopping the kitchen floor when,  I cleared my throat when I got closer to her, She turned abruptly almost losing her balance and the grip she had on the mop.  

Her eyes widened like saucers as her mouth widened agape,  she closed it then as if her mind just registered my presence she squealed and called Steph’s name “Sir!” she shouted,  I frowned and shook my head “Welcome back ma” she ran towards Steph’s home office after welcoming me. 

I shook my head and rolled my eyes then entered the kitchen to fix something for myself to eat. 
I rolled my eyes when I heard the shuffling in the living room and focused on the carton of milk and bowl of cereal. 
“Cassia?” he called questioningly,  I closed my eyes as his reverberated through my body,  then the face of Timone flashed through my mind. 

I felt his hands on mine, I opened my eyes, then pulled away,  I couldn’t let him touch my body when I’ve made another man done same,  “I -” I shook my head and held my hand up stopping him mid sentence,  then forced a smile on my face. 
“Let me eat when I’m done you can ask me whatever you want to know”
He seemed taken aback by my nonchalant attitude but he was quiet,  he stood up and walked out of the room I heaved a sigh I didn’t even know I was holding.  If only he knew what had happened he’d not even wish to be anywhere  near  me. 

I blinked back the tear that threatened to fall from my eyes, now wasn’t the time to cry I’ve wallowed way too much in this sorrow, it was time to get over it and tell Steph the truth. 

Can she tell the truth though. Should infidelity in anyway be forgiven?  What if the person really regrets his actions? 

Leave a Reply

